The ultimate guide to the Targaryen family tree explored in Game of Thrones & House of The Dragon

Including which line Daenerys hails from.
Loading the player...

The Targaryen family dynasty was first introduced to screens in Game Of Thrones, but as their lineage is explored further in House of The Dragon more complicated names – which often sound quite similar – are thrown into the mix.

The realm where the Targaryen line was created, conquered the Seven Kingdoms and inevitably met their doom fighting for the Irone Throne was created by author George R.R. Martin.

(Image: HBO)

In the first season of Game of Thrones, Daenerys battled with being outcasted with her brother Viserys who demanded the Iron Throne was his, cue his ironic shrouded in gold death.

Throughout the eight seasons, we watched Daenerys conquer Westeros with her three dragons by her side as the rightful heir to the Iron Throne.

It wasn’t until the final season when the mother of plot twists was revealed – Jon Snow was actually born Aegon Targaryen, son to Lyanna Stark and Rhaegar Targaryen, meaning he was actually next in line to the throne.

While it is easy to identify a Targaryen from the ice blond hair, but with complex names, incestual relationships, and even Targaryen’s with dark hair, it can be difficult to understand the family line and House of The Dragon hasn’t simplified it.

Below we’ve simplified the Targaryen family tree ahead of House of The Dragon’s season two premiere on June 16 on Binge.

Stream House of The Dragon and Game of Thrones on BINGE from $10/mth, with a 7-day free trial.


(Image: HBO)

Viserys is the eldest Targaryen fans have been visually introduced too. He is the fifth king in the dynasty, son of Prince Baelon and his wife/sister Alyssa, descendent of Aegon I, the Conqueror.

Following the death of his wife Queen Aemma, he wed Queen Alicent (Hightower) and welcomed four children, Aegon, Halaena, Aemond and Daeron.


(Image: HBO)

Daughter of late Prince Aemon Targaryen and his wife Jocelyn Baratheon, presumed to be her father’s heir however he passed before his ascension. Her grandfather, Jaehaerys I was forced to choose between Rhaenys or Baelon – to which he decided the latter.

Also known as The Queen Who Never Was, Rhaenys wed Corlys Velaryon to whom they share Laena and Laenor.


(Image: HBO)

Brother to Viserys, son to Baelon and wife/sister Alyssa. Daemon married three times including Rhae Royce who died young, Laena Velaryon to whom he had two children with – Baela and Rhaena – before dying in childbirth with their third. Lastly, he married his niece Rhaenyra Targaryen.


(Image: HBO)

Born 97AC, Rhaenyra was the only child of Viserys I Targaryen and Queen Aemma – who died in the first episode of HoTD.

Rhaenyra first married Ser Laenor Velaryon, by name only they welcomed three sons together, Jacaerys, Lucerys, and Joffery – biologically these sons belong to Ser Harwin Strong. She then married her uncle Prince Daemon Targaryen to whom she has three children with, Aegon, Viserys and daughter Visenya.


In the eighth episode of House of The Dragon, we were introduced to Rhaenyra and Daemon’s children: Aegon and Viserys.

At the time, Rhaenyra was pregnant with their third child, Visenya who we meet in episode 10, though her name was not revealed in the series. Unfortunately, the baby was stillborn.

It is in this line, that Daenerys was born.


(Image: HBO)

Rhaegar was the eldest of three children born to Aerys, The Mad King, and his wife/sister Rhaella, sibling to Viserys and Daenerys.

He had two children with wife Elia Martell before falling in love with Lynna Stark. A civil war broke out as the Starks and Baratheon believed Rhaegar abducted Lynna. He annulled his former marriage to secretly wed Lynna who died giving birth to Aegon, also known as Jon Snow.


(Image: HBO)

After The Mad King’s demise and his brothers death, Viserys was the eldest surviving Targaryen. After fleeing to Braavos with his sister Daenerys, he was eager to find his way back to the Irone Throne. In doing so he wed his sister to Dothraki warlord Khal Drogo.

Viserys ploys and impatience for the crown didn’t serve him well. After threatening Daenerys unborn child, Khal kills him by pouring molten gold on his head.


(Image: HBO)

The youngest child of Aerys II and descendant of Princess Rhaenyra Targaryen, Daenerys sees the return of dragons to the world with Drogon, Rhaegal and Viserion. Sadly, these are the only “children” she will ever have.

While she wed Khal Drogo, Daenerys miscarried their child soon after his death.

Over the years, The Mother of Dragons is on the moral mission to end slavery and injustice. But just as the Iron Throne is within her reach, she is killed by Jon Snow.


(Image: HBO)

The last surviving Targaryen, son to Rhaegar and the rightful heir to the Irone Throne. He is nephew to Daenerys.

After killing Daenerys, Jon is exiled and doesn’t bare any children – from what we’ve seen on Game of Thrones.

If you’re eager for more Game of Thrones content, pick up the books by George R.R. Martin available here.

Related stories