The most frequently asked questions about the TV WEEK Logie Awards

Here’s everything you need to know…
Loading the player...

The TV WEEK Logie Awards are back in 2022 after being cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, so this year TV’s night of nights will be more special than ever.

To celebrate the highly-anticipated return of the awards ceremony, and all the glamour associated, we’re taking a stroll down memory lane and satisfying your curiosity as we answer some of the most common questions TV WEEK readers ask about the Logies.

Packed To The Rafters stars Hugh Sheridan, Rebecca Gibney and Erik Thomson. text

(Image: TV WEEK)

When were the first TV WEEK Logie Awards held?

The show first aired in May, 1959, and there were eight categories.

The big award of the night was called the ‘Star of the Year’ award, and it was given to Graham Kennedy from In Melbourne Tonight.

Graham Kennedy counts his Logies in 1971.

(Image: Supplied)

Why are they called ‘The Logies’?

The show was originally named the TV WEEK Awards, and was changed to be the TV WEEK Logie Awards in 1960.

It was Graham Kennedy who suggested they be named ‘The Logies’ in honour of John Logie Baird, the Scottish inventor of television.

Which TV show has won the most Logie Awards?

No surprises here, but fan-favourite Home and Away holds the record for winning the most Logie Awards, with 46 awards under their belt.

Following close behind are In Melbourne Tonight with 43 Logies, Hey Hey It’s Saturday with 34, The Mike Walsh Show with 31, and the now-cancelled Neighbours with 31.

Home and Away alums Melissa George and Dieter Brummer with US star Dean Cain at the 1995 Logies.

(Image: Getty)

Who has won the most Gold Logie Awards?

Graham Kennedy and Ray Martin share the record for the most Gold Logies, with an incredible five each.

Following Graham and Ray are Lisa McCune with four, the late Bert Newton with four, Daryl Sommers with three and Rove McManus with three.

WATCH: Bert Newton’s Logies speech. Article continues after video

Loading the player...

Who has won the most Logie Awards overall?

Ray Martin has won the most TV WEEK Logie Awards, with an impressive 15 under his belt.

He’s followed by Rove McManus and Lisa McCune, who both have 10 Logie Awards each.

Rove celebrates Carrie Bickmore’s win at the 2010 Logies.

(Image: Getty)

What’s the difference between the ‘Most Popular’ and ‘Most Outstanding’ categories?

The ‘Most Popular’ categories are voted for by the Australian public, while the ‘Most Outstanding’ categories are voted for by a panel of TV industry experts.

2018 Gold Logie nominees Grant Denyer, Tracy Grimshaw, Amanda Keller, Rodger Corser and Jessica Marais (Andrew Winter not pictured).

(Image: Getty)

Related stories