Reality TV

Congratulations! Team George’s Diana Rouvas wins The Voice

The Team George artist snatches the ultimate glory!
Loading the player...

It’s been one explosive season of The Voice this year – but in Sunday night’s grand finale, it all came to a nail-biting end when Diana Rouvas was crowned season eight’s winner.

It was a tight race to triumph, with the Team George singer facing off against Team Kelly’s Zeek Power, and Team Delta’s Jordan Anthony and Daniel Shaw.

Meanwhile, Team Guy had no artists left in the competition, and with no mentoring left to do, the Before I Go singer had so much time on his hands that he even jokingly played mini-golf behind the coaches’ famous red chairs at one point during the night.

Diana admitted she was “overwhelmed” after host Sonia Kruger announced she had won.

“I’m overwhelmed. I am dribbling everywhere. I’m honoured. Thank you Australia,” she said.

Diana’s mentor Boy George, who had earlier been brought to tears by her rendition of Whitney Houston’s I Will Always Love You, was ecstatic about the victory.

“This show has been, this season has been incredible. Like ridiculous. I am just delighted for Diana, delighted for her. Delighted,” he said.

WATCH: See the moment Diana Rouvas was crowned winner of The Voice 2019. Story continues after video…

Loading the player...

Diana Rouvas is the 2019 winner of The Voice.

(Image: Channel Nine)

It was Diana’s second stint on The Voice, after she previously competed as part of Team Keith way back in season one.

Before Diana’s win, 14-year-old Jordan was the first of the Top Four to get knocked out, followed by Zeek, leaving Diana and Daniel to battle it out, with the All Star singer ultimately victorious.

As part of her winner’s prize, Diana takes home $100,000 in prize money and receives a recording contract with EMI Recorded Music.

The stunning singer sang her winner’s single Wait For No One in an emotional performance to close out the show.

READ NEXT: What is The Voice’s 2018 winner Sam Perry up to now?

The Voice’s top four for 2019.

(Image: Channel Nine)

Related stories