Local News

NSW government has rolled out anti-radicalisation program across 19 schools

All of the schools are understood to be in Western and south-western Sydney.

By Kate Wagner
The NSW government has rolled out its anti-radicalisation program School Community Working Together to 19 schools.
It’s understood all of the schools are located in Western and south-western Sydney.
At the end of 2015, the former NSW Premier Mike Baird announced the New South Wales Government would be spending $47 million in the state’s school and communities to stop the radicalisation of young people.
The program is similar to those in Britain and America, although Australia’s approach has been far more aware of the complexities of radicalisation than its overseas counterparts.
"There is no single pathway of radicalisation towards violent extremism, as the process is unique to each person," claims The Commonwealth government's Living Safe Together website.
The program will deploy five expert teams which include former principals, psychologists and student support workers that can help identify vulnerable students and help school to develop strategies.
It caused some controversy after now ex-Principal of Punchbowl Boys High School refused to participate in the anti-radicalisation program and was subsequently removed.
The NSW education boss Mark Scott released details about the number of schools where anti-radicalisation programs are operating, but declined to comment on whether the program will now be run at Punchbowl after the principal who resisted its implementation was removed.
He appeared to blame the media for the community’s surprise at the removal of a popular principal and deputy.
“As concerns … calm down we expect that community to calm down,” he said.